Wanted to do a brief post to get myself to resume writing.

I haven’t blogged for over one year. I started a new job in Oct 2010 and that’s kept me occupied. I’m now longer a full time DBA but still heavily involved in databases. I’m doing pre-sales at EMC focused on database backup with EMC’s backup and recovery product line. I help customers understand how they can use EMC’s Data Domain, Networker and Avamar products to backup Oracle, SQL Server, DB2, Sybase, Greenplum and more. Great job, great company to work for, great customers!

For some internal testing, I was installing Oracle 10g on Oracle Enterprise Linux 5.5 and 5.7. Had to do the following:

  1. Needed to install several missing rpms, the usual stuff.
  2. Ran the 10.2.0.1 installer with the ignoreSysPreReqs flag since the Linux releases were far newer than the installer.
  3. When launching the 10.2.0.5 Oracle patch, the runInstaller command bombed without displaying the GUI and complained about a libXp.so.6 error. Google searches revealed a well blazed trail to the work around, which follows.

